Subclass 491 visa State and Territory Nomination update

The subclass 491 visa came in to effect on 16 November 2019. The Department of Home Affairs have now released the list of occupations and the regional postcodes.


The Victorian government started accepting applications for state nomination from 18 November 2019. Applicants will have access to any occupation on the commonwealth skilled occupation list. One of the main criteria is to provide evidence of a full-time offer of employment in the nominated occupation in a designated regional area in Victoria.

The Victorian state nomination application is free. The current advertised processing time frame is 12 weeks but it may take longer for some occupations.

South Australia

South Australia has not released the state nomination criteria for subclass 491. It is expected that this may happen in early December in line with the re-opening of the subclass 190 application process.


The Business and Skilled Migration Queensland (BSMQ) criteria requires applicants lodging an Expression of Interest (EOI) for subclass 491 visa to be nominated in an occupation in the QSOL ‘Working in Queensland list’, be working (minimum 35 hours a week) and living in Regional Queensland in the nominated occupation for 3 months immediately prior to the submission of the EOI and provide evidence of ongoing employment in a Regional area for further 12 months (minimum of 35 hours a week).

The BSMQ skilled program (subclass 190 and 491) is still closed. The exact date of when the program may re-open is yet to be announced.

Western Australia

Applicants will be able to lodge Expression of Interests from 16 November 2019 and the invitations to apply for WA State nomination will commence on 21 November 2019.


Tasmania is now accepting nomination applications for subclass 491 visa. The nomination criteria includes following categories of eligibility:

  • Category 1 – Tasmanian Graduate (access to any occupation in the Commonwealth list of skill occupations)
  • Category 2 – Working in Tasmania (access to any occupation in the Commonwealth list of skill occupations)
  • Category 3A – Overseas Applicants (access only to Tasmanian Skilled occupation list – High in Demand)
  • Category 3B – Overseas applicant with job offer (access to any occupation in the Commonwealth list of skill occupations)
  • Category 4 – Family in Australia
  • Category 5 – Small Business owner

The nomination application will incur a fee for service of $220 (including GST).

Australian Capital Territory

The eligibility criteria for 491 nomination will be published on or before 28 November 2019 and the program will open for applications from 1 January 2020.

Northern Territory

Applications for NT government nomination will open on Monday 9 December 2019. A fee of $300 (plus GST where applicable) will apply for 491 nomination applications.

New South Wales

NSW government is yet to advise when nominations can be lodged with NSW RDA for the subclass 491 visa. Eligible occupations are also expected to be announced in due course.


Go back to News and updates